Control what you share via Dropbox

drop box management

Handy: share files via Dropbox. But do keep an overview of what is shared with whom.


The extended sharing options are only accessible through the Dropbox site.

  • Visit the Dropbox website, www.dropbox.com
  • Log in with your email address and password.
  • The web page contains a list of your files and folders, divided into three columns. The last column ‘Shared’ shows whether a file has been shared, how it was shared and with whom.

You can link to a file or to a folder. In either case, the recipient can only view the content. You send the link to recipients yourself. But these recipients can also forward the link to others.

  • Move the mouse over the list of folders and files.
  • Press the button To share on the right.
  • click on Create a link.
  • click on Copy link.
  • Paste the link in, for example, an email or WhatsApp to share it and send the message.

Anyone who sent you the link will continue to have access to the folder or file until you remove the link.

  • Click on the left Shared.
  • Click in the middle column on Left. Here are all documents for which a link has been created.
  • Hover over a file and right-click the three-dot icon.
  • click on Remove link.
  • Click again Remove link.

The link no longer works. Anyone who tries to use it will get an error message.

When you share a link, the person receiving the link does not have permission to edit files. If you do want to give someone that option, you must place the file in a folder. You can then share that folder with permission to edit its contents. Here, you invite people: only they can access the folder and edit its contents. There is one very important but: the people you invite must have Dropbox or be willing to create an account. How to share a folder:

  • Mouse over the folder you want to share.
  • Press the button To share on the right.
  • Click on the ‘Add an email address or name’ bar. Enter a name or email address here.
  • Type a message below, if necessary.
  • If it is not already selected: click on the bold letters next to ‘Invited people only and select Can edit.
  • click on Share folder.
  • Next to the folder you can see how many people the folder has been shared with. For example, if you have shared the folder with one person, the text will read ‘2 members’ next to the folder.

To stop sharing a folder with someone, follow these steps:

  • Mouse over the folder you no longer want to share with others.
  • click on To share.
  • At the top, under the folder name, click 2 people have access (the number can also be higher).
  • Click on the option to the right of the person Can edit.
  • click on remove.
  • Click again remove.
  • Close the panel by clicking the cross in the top right.

Recent Articles

Related Stories