Disable and remove tags on Facebook

facebooktag1968248_640(1) Are you tagged on Facebook in a post or photo? Notify tags and decide whether the post can appear on your timeline.

When someone tags you, that person creates a link to your profile page. It’s a quick way to share photos, for example. For example, someone can indicate that you are in a photo, or show that he/she is or has been with you. Posts with a tag are also visible to your Facebook friends. Don’t you want that because, for example, you don’t look nice in a photo? Or you think that not everyone needs to know who you have had a drink with. Then set Facebook in such a way that you must first give permission before a tag becomes public.

To check tags from friends, turn on timeline checking for tags. This is slightly different in the Facebook app than on the website.

  • Go to facebook.com or open the app facebook.
  • If necessary, log in with username and password.
  • Click the down arrow in the top right Manage Facebook tags (website) or tap the three horizontal bars icon at the top right fb more hamburger icon (app).
  • click on Settings and privacy > Institutions.
  • Click in the left column on Timeline and tagging (website) or swipe down to “Privacy” and tap it Timeline and tagging.
  • At ‘Check’ it says ‘Checking tags people add to your own posts before tags appear on Facebook?‘. Click or tap this.
  • In the Facebook app: Is the slider gray? Then tap the slider. If it is blue, the function is on.
  • On the website: Does it say ‘Disabled’? click on Turned off and choose Enabled.

From now on you will be notified when someone wants to tag you. Open the notification. Click or tap Add to timeline to allow the tag or choose Hide.

If you have previously been tagged in an item and you do not like it, you can remove the tag. In the Facebook app for smartphones and tablets, this is how it works:

  • Tap the icon of three horizontal bars at the top right.
  • Tap on Settings and privacy > Institutions.
  • Swipe down and under “Your Facebook Information” tap Activity Log.
  • Tap at the top left Filters > Categories. Then tap Activities you’ve been tagged in > Everything.
  • You will see a list of all posts and photos that mention you on Facebook. Tap the three dots behind a post and choose whether you want to hide the post from your timeline or remove the tag.
  • Tap the left arrow in the top left to go back.

The tag has been removed and the post is no longer on your timeline. However, the original post is still on Facebook and visible to friends of the person who posted it.

On Facebook’s website, removing tags works a little differently:

  • Click the down arrow at the top right.
  • click on Settings and privacy > Activity Log.
  • Click in the left column on tag check.
  • An overview appears with tags that you still need to approve or disapprove. We’re not doing anything with this right now.
  • Click in the left column on Activities you’ve been tagged in.
  • The messages in which you have been tagged now appear in the left column. Click on a message and it will open in the middle window.
  • In the middle window, click on the three dots in the message.
  • click on remove tag.
  • If necessary, do the same for other messages on the left of the column.

The tag has been removed and the post is no longer on your timeline. However, the original post is still on Facebook and visible to friends of the person who posted it.

    Recent Articles

    Related Stories