Delete groups in WhatsApp: this is how you do it

If you use WhatsApp regularly, you know how important it is to clean up your chats once in a while. We tell you how to delete groups in WhatsApp.

Delete group conversations on WhatsApp

WhatsApp has heaps of useful features, including creating group conversations. It is very easy to create a new group for every occasion, but it sometimes happens that after a while nothing is said in the group. If you want to keep WhatsApp on your iPhone organized, it is useful to delete unused groups once in a while.

Also read: Securing conversations: this is how your messages in WhatsApp are really protected

To delete a group, you must first leave the group conversation. Think carefully in advance whether you really want to leave the group conversation, as once you are out of a group you will no longer receive messages from that chat. You can be added to the group again, but this depends on the group administrator. We explain how to delete a group in WhatsApp.

leave whatsapp group

This is how you delete a group in WhatsApp

Deleting groups in WhatsApp is done in a few simple steps. Before you can permanently delete a group, you must first leave the group. You do this by going to the group conversation on WhatsApp, tapping on the group name and then choosing ‘Leave group’.

It is then possible to permanently remove a group from your list on WhatsApp. You do this as follows:

  1. Open WhatsApp;

  2. Go to the group conversation you want to delete and open the conversation;

  3. Tap the group name;

  4. Scroll down and tap ‘Delete Group’;

  5. Then choose ‘Delete group’ again.

If you don’t want to open the group conversation, it’s also possible to delete the group from your conversations list. Then go to the group in your WhatsApp list and swipe the conversation to the left. Then tap “More > Delete group > Delete group” to remove the chat from your list.

Please note, because the content of the group conversation cannot be retrieved once you have deleted the chat from WhatsApp. Do you doubt whether you will still need the group? Then it is wise to archive the group. The conversation will no longer be in your list of conversations, but you will still be in the group. Here we explain how to archive a conversation on WhatsApp.

delete whatsapp group

More WhatsApp tips

By regularly deleting groups in WhatsApp, your list of conversations becomes a lot clearer. WhatsApp is also busy behind the scenes with new functions for the app. For example, it has recently become possible to send messages to yourself and making WhatsApp stickers on your iPhone is now much easier.

Read more: Use WhatsApp on two phones – it’s finally possible

In addition, WhatsApp is working on a new feature that gives group conversations an expiration date. The new function is mainly designed for temporary groups. The administrator of the group receives a reminder on the set date to delete the group and then decides for himself whether the group can indeed be deleted. Read more about the new feature on WhatsApp here.

Want to stay up to date with all Apple news? Sign up for our daily/weekly newsletter. In addition, download the free iphoned app and keep an eye on our website.

Recent Articles

Related Stories